AUTHENTIC TRAPPIST BEERS

Chimay is an authentic Trappist beer:
this means that it is brewed within the walls of a Trappist monastery, under the control and responsibility of the community of monks, who are involved through the process of making and marketing the beer.

Most of the income generated by this activity is devoted to the needs of the community and social works.

GOOD TASTING DEPENDS ON GOOD SERVING

  1. Tilt your glass at 45°
  2. Delicately pour half of the bottle into the glass.
  3. Straighten the glass to finish serving.
  4. Leave the last centimetre at the bottom of the bottle to avoid the yeast clouding your beer.

However, if you wish, the beer can of course be served with its yeast, which is perfectly edible.

1 - Mashing

The various ingredients are mixed in the mash tun: water, drawn only from the two wells within the Abbey precincts, and ground malt (barley germinated then dried). For the starch in the grain to be transformed into fermentable sugars, the liquid is brought to various different temperatures at set intervals.

2 – Filtering the wort

The liquid is then filtered to separate the spent grain (insoluble husks and residues) from the wort. (At this stage in the production process, the liquid cannot yet be called beer). The spent grain makes first-class cattle fodder. Local farmers come along to collect it for their cows, whose milk is used to make … Chimay cheese!

3 - Boiling

The wort is then boiled at 100°C. This is when the hops are added. A second batch of hops is put in at the end of the boiling process to bring out the bitterness and aroma of the beer. This boiling process makes the wort sterile.

4 – Clarifying and cooling

The wort is clarified in the centrifuge to remove the solid elements, and then cooled before being transferred to the fermentation vats.

5 - Fermentation

The wort is then sent to the fermentation vats. After three to five days, a liquid is produced which may be called ‘beer’. Because this fermentation takes place at a temperature between 18 and 32°C and the yeast rises to the surface of the fermented beer, this is known as ‘high fermentation’.

6 – Centrifuging and cooling

As the wort ferments, the yeast multiplies. The surplus therefore has to be removed. To do this, the beer is centrifuged and then cooled. The yeast residue is recovered, dried and compressed to form the famous Trappist beer yeast tablets rich in vitamin B and vitamin H and recommended as a potent natural dietary supplement.

7 - Storage

The beer is than kept in a storage vat for a few days at a temperature close to 0°C. This process removes the final solid residues still found in the beer.

8 – Preparation and bottling

After the storage process, the beer is flat, clear and bright. Fresh yeast is therefore added at this stage to achieve the correct alcohol content and sparkle. The beer is then taken by tanker to the bottling plant at Baileux.

9 – Bottling

Once the yeast has been added, the beer is bottled at the rate of 40,000 units an hour. Its foam and sparkle are obtained thanks to the oldest and most natural process possible: second fermentation in the bottle. The liquid is totally ‘flat’ when it is bottled. This additional maturation process is triggered by adding sugar and yeast before bottling – a real ‘champagne method’ which takes three weeks. It produces carbon dioxide saturation while making the beer even easier to digest and enhancing its alcohol content, thereby refining its personality.

10 – Refermentation

After bottling, the beer is kept at a stable temperature and humidity for 21 days, until the refermentation in the bottle is complete. This is when the Chimay maturation process begins. Connoisseurs maintain that this process can be extended for several years, but that’s another story.

  1. X
  2. X
  3. X
  4. X
  5. X
  6. X
  7. X
  8. X
  9. X
  10. X

Key dates

ADS biere forte belge Father Théodore isolates the unique yeast cells that still form the basis for brewing Chimay Trappist beers today.
1948
Spéciale 1956 Creation of the White Cap beer, also known as Chimay Triple.
1966
bouteille chimay bleue Creation of Chimay Triple on tap.        .
2001
 
1862
The monks of Chimay produce their first beer according to the monastic traditions of natural brewing.
Moine 1956
The monastic community develops a Christmas beer that is now known as Chimay Blue Cap.
blason chimay triple 1982Creation of Chimay Grande Réserve and, in 1986, Chimay Cinq Cents (75cl bottle). verre chimay 2013
Chimay Gold is marketed for the first time

 

Chimay around the world

CHIMAY TRAPPIST BEERS IN THE WORLD

Our Trappist beers are appreciated in all four corners of the world.

You will find them in many pubs and restaurants near you or when travelling.

SUGGEST YOUR PUB OR RESTAURANT

Please complete the fields below for your request to be considered and validated.

 
 
 
 

Your request to be added has been sent successfully.
It will be verified shortly and added to the list.

DES BIÈRES TRAPPISTES AUTHENTIQUES

La Chimay est une authentique bière Trappiste :
cela signifie qu’elle est brassée dans l’enceinte d’un monastère Trappiste, sous le contrôle et la responsabilité de la communauté monastique, qui est engagée dans tout le processus d’exploitation de la bière.

L’essentiel des revenus générés par cette activité est consacré aux nécessités de la communauté et à des œuvres sociales.

Une bonne dégustation dépend d'un bon service

  1. Incliner votre verre à 45°
  2. Servez délicatement jusqu’à la moitié de la bouteille
  3. Redressez le verre pour terminer le service
  4. Laissez le dernier centimètre dans le fond de la bouteille afin d’éviter que la levure vienne voiler votre bière

Rem: La bière peut bien entendu être servie avec sa levure. Celle-ci est tout à fait comestible si vous le souhaitez.

1 - L’empâtage

Dans la cuve d’empâtage, on mélange les diverses matières premières: l’eau, originaire exclusivement des deux puits situés sur le terrain de l’Abbaye, le malt moulu en farine (orge germée puis séchée). Pour que l’amidon du grain se transforme en sucres fermentescibles, cette masse liquide est chauffée à différents paliers de température.

2 - La filtration du moût

La masse liquide est ensuite  filtrée afin de séparer la drêche(enveloppes du grain et résidus non solubles) du moût (partie liquide que l’on ne peut pas encore appeler bière à ce stade de la fabrication). La drêche constitue un aliment de premier choix pour le bétail: les fermiers des environs viennent la chercher pour nourrir leurs vaches dont le lait se retrouvera dans le fromage… de Chimay !

3 - L’ébullition

Le moût est ensuite porté à ébullition à 100°C. C’est à ce moment que l’on y rajoute le houblon, dont une partie en fin d’ébullition de manière à rendre l’amertume et l’arôme bien présents dans la bière. Cette ébullition rend le moût stérile.

4 - La clarification et le refroidissement

Le moût est clarifié dans le Whirpool afin d’en éliminer les éléments solides, puis refroidi avant de partir en cuve de fermentation.

5 - La fermentation

Le moût est alors envoyé vers les cuves de fermentation. Au bout de 3 à 5 jours, on obtient un liquide que l’on peut appeler “bière”. Parce que cette fermentation se déroule à une température se situant entre 18 et 32°C et que la levure remonte à la surface de la bière fermentée, on parle de “fermentation haute”.

6 - La centrifugation et le refroidissement

Au cours de la fermentation du moût, la levure s’est multipliée. Il faut donc en retirer l’excédent. Pour ce faire, on centrifuge la bière puis on la refroidit. Les résidus de levure sont récupérés, séchés et comprimés pour devenir les fameux comprimés de levure de bière trappiste riches en vitamines B et H, recommandés comme puissant reconstituant naturel.

7 - La garde

Pendant quelques jours, la bière est envoyée dans une cuve de garde maintenue à une température proche de 0°C. Ce procédé consiste à éliminer les derniers résidus solides encore présents dans la bière.

8 - La préparation à l’embouteillage

La bière issue de la garde est plate, limpide et brillante. On va donc lui ajouter de la levure fraîche pour atteindre le bon volume final en alcool et en pétillance. Ensuite, cette bière est acheminée en camion citerne vers le site d’embouteillage de Baileux.

9 - Le soutirage

La bière, additionnée de levure, est mise en bouteille au rythme de 40.000 bouteilles heures. Sa mousse et son pétillant sont obtenus par le procédé le plus ancien et le plus naturel qui soit : la refermentation en bouteille. Elle est soutirée complètement “plate”. C’est en lui ajoutant préalablement du sucre et de la levure, dans sa bouteille, que l’on provoque cette nouvelle maturation, véritable champagnisation qui s’opère en trois semaines. Elle produit une saturation en gaz carbonique tout en rendant la bière encore plus digeste et en enrichissant sa teneur en alcool, affinant sa personnalité.

10 - La refermentation

Après le soutirage, la bière est conservée en chambre tempérée durant une période de  21 jours jusqu’à ce que la fermentation soit bien achevée dans les bouteilles. Commence alors la maturation de la Chimay, dont les connaisseurs affirment qu’elle peut être prolongée plusieurs années, mais c’est une autre histoire.

  1. X
  2. X
  3. X
  4. X
  5. X
  6. X
  7. X
  8. X
  9. X
  10. X

Grandes dates

ADS biere forte belge Le Père Théodore isole les cellules de levure uniques qui sont encore aujourd’hui à la base de la fabrication des bières trappistes de Chimay.
1948
Spéciale 1956 Création de la capsule Blanche connue également sous le nom de Chimay Triple.
1966
bouteille chimay bleue Création de la Chimay Triple au fût.
2001
 
1862
Les moines de Chimay brassent leur première bière selon les traditions monastiques d’un brassage naturel.
1956
La communauté monastique développe une bière de Noël appelée aujourd’hui Chimay Bleue.
blason chimay triple 1982
Création de la Chimay Grande Réserve et, en 1986, de la Chimay Cinq Cents (bouteille 75cl).
verre chimay 2013
Commercialisation de la Chimay Dorée

 

Chimay à travers le monde

Les Bières Trappistes de Chimay dans le monde

Nos bières trappistes sont appréciées aux quatre coins de la planète.

Retrouvez-les dans de nombreux établissements près de chez vous ou lors de vos voyages.

Proposez votre établissement

Veuillez remplir les champs ci-dessous afin que votre demande soit prise en compte et puisse être validée.

 
 
 
 

Votre demande d'ajout a bien été envoyée.
Elle sera bientôt vérifiée et ajoutée à la liste.